Kia Sportage (2016 on)

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 February 2021
1

1.6 CRDi 134 48V GT Line S ISG DCT Auto 5dr

reviewed by Glyn Ford on 19 January 2021
1
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
1
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Currently not drivable and waiting 3 months for new sensor ...only 5 months old. Previous car had same problem.

We originally purchased a Kia Sportage 4 CRDI MHEV (DCT gearbox) 4x4 on 26.06.2020 from Stoneacre Grimsby. This was the demonstrator car with 1,000 miles (first registered 31.03.2020). This car broke down within a few days due to a faulty exhaust gas temperature sensor which affected the ECU and automatic gearbox. The part was unavailable for several weeks so the dealership agreed to buy the car back off us and we ordered another new Kia Sportage on 08.07.2020 and used a loan car kindly provided by the dealership.

The brand new car arrived 28.07.2020 (first date of registration). This is a Kia Sportage S CRDI MHEV 4x4 with same DCT automatic gearbox. Within a few months of driving the automatic gearbox selection started to create issues (would only provide 2, 4, 6 gear) and would re-settle once the engine was turned off and back on. Due to the lockdown we were not able to immediately take this car back to the Stoneacre Grimsby dealership and have it checked. In early December 2020 the car became basically undriveable and now would show the amber advisory light and jump between 2, 4 and 6 gear. We had just moved house to Lincoln so called the Stoneacre service number (central number) and tried to book the car for local repair at Stoneacre Lincoln. We were told that the earliest date was 18.01.2021.

We were fortunately helped by the Stoneacre Grimsby sales manager who we contacted on 30.12.2020 was able to take the car into Stoneacre Grimsby on 05.01.2021 for repairs. They informed us that they could not find the exact fault but would recalibrate the gearbox and remove the amber warning light.

The next day (06.01.2021) the car started to have the same issues with the automatic gearbox and showed the amber dashboard light. We called Stoneacre Grimsby and they said it was a faulty exhaust gas temperature sensor and that it was the same fault which had happened on our previous car and apparently some of their other Kia Sportages with the DCT gearbox.

They would need to order the spare part and call us when it was available. They told us that it would be available by 13.01.2021 but we called them on 18.01.2021 and were informed it was not available and they would need to take a similar part from a new car they had in stock and repair ours on 19.01.2021. We took the car into Stoneacre Grimsby on 19.01.2021 and they then called to advise that they were not able to replace the sensor. They said there was significant backlog with this particular part and that Stoneacre Lincoln also had 4 orders outstanding. The part is not available until at least April 2021(over 3 months away). They have kept the car at the service centre as it is not safe to drive and registered it as ‘off-road’. We are using their demonstrator Kia CEED today as a temporary measure but that will need to be returned as they need it back.

The car is less than 6 months old and has covered 5,000 miles. This is the second identical model which we have purchased that has had the same fault.

The car is otherwise fantastic and the dealership team are also extremely helpful.

We are probably going to reject the car and get a refund as it’s still within the 6 months period.

Kia needs to resolve these faults quickly as it’s not acceptable to have two identical cars both go wrong with the same issue.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Russell Hartley on 28 December 2020
5
reviewed by Martin Austin on 28 November 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 October 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 October 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 May 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 November 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 June 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 October 2018
4
reviewed by Jaja on 16 December 2017
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 November 2017
5
reviewed by signman on 30 August 2017
4
reviewed by Martyn Jennings on 20 March 2017
3
reviewed by retired secretary on 1 June 2016

Write your review

About this car

Price£18,795–£32,775
Road TaxAlternative fuel, C–I
MPG36.2–62.9 mpg
Real MPG74.3%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car