BMW 1 Series (2011 - 2019)

3
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2024
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 August 2023
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 December 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 May 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 May 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 February 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 January 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 January 2019
5
reviewed by Phil Randall on 16 December 2018
5
reviewed by Adam Bright on 23 September 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 July 2018
4

116d 1.5 SE 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Anonymous on 29 June 2018
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Great Car!

I rented this car for a week on holiday in Spain in January 2018. I was pleased when I got a free upgrade to a BMW. I got a sense of how it drives in urban environments and on Spanish mountains roads. It is my first experience of driving a BMW car.

My overall feeling about this BMW is positive, and I can't think of a single reason not to recommend buying one.

How is it to drive? : The car is easy to drive. I was pleased with how it drives. Visibility from the car is great. The car stalled a few times, because it is hard to figure where the 'bite' point (the car does not communicate that to the driver so well).

The car always seemed to have power, I never felt the car was struggling or having to push it. Even when going up-hill on mountain roads or on motorways, it was already great.

Honest John describes the car 'fun to drive'. I would dispute this. I would say it is 'good to drive'. On mountain roads, I expected a thrill, but the BMW did not give that, it was very poised and grown up. So I never felt, I was going fast on corner. I could not feel being thrown left to right. It was a very different type of drive.

I also noticed that when I reached my destination, I did not feel tired, which was great (and for me the reason I like the car). I think the suspension is hard at times, but what it does is remove all the 'small' vibrations bumps shakes from the road surface and to leave the driver refreshed. The BMW suspension is very different to other cars I have driven.

Radio - It is generally good. A car such as the Honda Civic has a better sound system.

Mobile phone - I had to use a windscreen phone caddy, so I could use my phone as a sat nav. It is a shame, there is n't a place to keep phones.

Phone connectivity. I noticed, if I connected my phone via USB (for charging), it would drain my phones battery, so I had to use a classic phone charge (cigarette lighter) so I could charge the battery.

I could also play music via Bluetooth.

Luggage space, when we checked out of the hotel. Managed to cram in two suitcases (one big one medium) and two hand carries. I was doubtful and though would have to return to the hotel to pick up our bags, but managed to fit everything in! I did not want to leave luggage in the back seat in case someone breaks.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 23 June 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 May 2018
5
reviewed by Ian Garratt on 28 November 2017
4
reviewed by Colin Cowpat on 8 September 2017
5
reviewed by Fos on 31 May 2017
3
reviewed by medview on 18 February 2017
3
reviewed by Ian Cogger on 11 February 2017
1
reviewed by chris mouland on 30 January 2017
3
reviewed by Colin Cowpat on 10 June 2015
4
reviewed by Fat_Beagle on 17 May 2015
5
reviewed by dodo on 21 February 2015
5
reviewed by tiggerii on 15 January 2015
4
reviewed by jah216 on 15 December 2014
4
reviewed by Colin Cowpat on 30 October 2014
4
reviewed by AlexJ on 28 August 2014
4
reviewed by jah216 on 9 July 2014
5
reviewed by RustyBalls on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 October 2013
2
reviewed by baconmd on 17 March 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,775–£40,400
Road TaxA–J
MPG35.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG74.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer