Vauxhall Vectra (2002 - 2008)

5
reviewed by Steve McDermott on 1 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 January 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
5
reviewed by farmideas on 4 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
5
reviewed by davidj on 2 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Hinchliffe on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by Ilikeelectriccars on 7 June 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 January 2015
5
reviewed by squij on 28 November 2014
4
reviewed by Badger1986 on 28 November 2014
5
reviewed by davidj on 28 August 2014
4
reviewed by Captains3 on 14 February 2014
5
reviewed by dave dl on 31 January 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by barchettaman on 22 August 2013
2
reviewed by WilliamLX on 9 January 2013
5
reviewed by Veccy on 29 October 2012
1
reviewed by Tech-Lee on 5 September 2012
4
reviewed by Dekkers42 on 22 May 2011
4

Life 1.8i 16v 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Andrew_C on 10 May 2011
4
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Family Car - Does the job

As a previous owner of a Cavalier (1.8i K-Reg) and a Vectra (1.8i P-Reg) I was very surprised by the Vectra C. I was expecting a repeat performance (or rather lack of performance) of the B but this did not turn out to be the case.
Size matters, well yes the boot at 550 litres or a massive 750 with the seats folded is incredibly useful. I have carried two children and three bikes inside the car with the seats split.
Good for those monthly trips to the local recycling depot.

In terms of ride - best for the long stretches on the motorway.
If you take it round some nice bendy A roads you might end up with some motion sick people in the back. I believe the facelift 2005+ models for the UK have a stiffer rear suspension setup. If so I would hate to try the earlier one.

Insurance is much cheaper that the old B version which came in at group 12 ...now down to group 7.

Bought it through a Network Q dealer and have been happy with after sales and recall work . Yes I had the hand brake done and yes it slipped once.

Overall not exciting, but then neither am I ...

Servicing cost do seem a little high if all the pads discs and tyres need replacing at the same time. So far had one breakdown.....flat battery....

Handling after having a blow-out at motorway speeds on the rear offside tyre was excellent !
Even though the tyre had shredded by the time I could stop safely the car felt secure and safe.

(Interestingly had a similar experience with the Cavalier.....)


So if you want a reasonable car to ferry kids (not too many) and stuff (lots) and you are not that exciting this is a good bet.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Norb on 2 March 2011
4
reviewed by saxon1056 on 31 December 2010
3
reviewed by Andy 94 on 12 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,920–£27,500
Road TaxG–L
MPG26.9–49.6 mpg
Real MPG95.2%

Just reviewed...

2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car