Vauxhall Vectra (2002 - 2008)

5
reviewed by Steve McDermott on 1 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 January 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
5
reviewed by farmideas on 4 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
5
reviewed by davidj on 2 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Hinchliffe on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by Ilikeelectriccars on 7 June 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 January 2015
5
reviewed by squij on 28 November 2014
4

SRi 1.9 CDTi 16v (150ps) 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Badger1986 on 28 November 2014
4
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Can be a great car

I think I am best suited to write a review on this car, I have had it nearly 6 years now, with a few problems, nothing too expensive. First of all I must warn you that if you will only use this car for short cold journeys of less than 10 miles, DON'T, you will destroy it and end up out of pocket, for the first 4 years of ownership, I did this, my commute to work was a measly 2 miles, engine hardly ever got warm, the alternator failed, driveshaft corroded and brakes warped, suspension problems and I was advised to change the cambelt and water pump at 35,000 miles!! However, I now commute 50 miles to work, 5 days a week, the car has never run better.....

Ride and handling - Solid and refined at high speeds (motorways and country roads) nice and quiet and no need to raise voice at high speed, however in town, on our pothole ridden roads, it feels like being in a lowered Vauxhall nova, very firm and bone shaking.

Good points - refined ride, nice cabin layout, quality interior, good handling, cheap to repair, big boot, large amount of passenger space.

Bad points - not good for short journeys on a regular basis, manifold and DPF will fail if you do this, very quickly, they are not cheap.
Rattles can form from the door cards, parcel shelf, ash tray and interior light cluster, however they are all very easy to fix, with instructions on vectra-c.com for fixes on most problems. Your air-con WILL fail, the condenser is prone to stone damage and will keep happening.

What work I have had to have done-

Air-con condenser replaced at 30,000 miles under warranty

Water pump and cambelt (precautionary) at 37,000 miles, £300 by a mechanic friend

Alternator and battery at 40,000 miles £200 by the same friend

Brake pads and discs all round, all warped but had plenty of life left in them, 42,000 miles £210

Clutch and DMF flywheel replaced at 60,000 miles £700 cheapest I could get, expect upwards of £900 for this job.

There are a couple of things that mechanics don't have a clue about, sometimes it can rattle and bang when starting up when engine is hot, the fix is simply a new coolant temperature sensor, as a failed one will tell the ECU that the coolant is still cold and put too much of a rich fuel mixture in the startup process, this cost me £7 from euro car parts and took 10 minutes to fit, very easy

The rattles can be fixed by clever and discreet placement of little foam pads under bits of trim, mine is silent at the moment which is nice.

I have just been told that my driveshaft is possibly slightly warped now, all due to the short journeys from before.

The car has NEVER actually broken down or not started though, a taxi driver friend of mine managed to get 270,000 miles out of one of these as a taxi, with no major faults because obviously it was used all day every day, if you don't let the engine get to temperature and let the DPF regenerate, you will destroy this car and have lots of problems.

To sum it up, I still love it, people still comment on it and say it's a nice car and think it's worth a lot more than it is, now that I'm commuting a fairly big distance, the likelihood of more problems is quite slim, these cars are made to be used. They are excellent in the snow, great amount of power and torque for overtaking, great in corners too, no body roll whatsoever.

Passengers comment that it is a very nice comfortable car to be driven in.

Insurance for me, 20,000 business miles, 28 year old male with 7 years no claims is £310 fully comp with all the bells and whistles.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by davidj on 28 August 2014
4
reviewed by Captains3 on 14 February 2014
5
reviewed by dave dl on 31 January 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by barchettaman on 22 August 2013
2
reviewed by WilliamLX on 9 January 2013
5
reviewed by Veccy on 29 October 2012
1
reviewed by Tech-Lee on 5 September 2012
4
reviewed by Dekkers42 on 22 May 2011
4
reviewed by Andrew_C on 10 May 2011
4
reviewed by Norb on 2 March 2011
4
reviewed by saxon1056 on 31 December 2010
3
reviewed by Andy 94 on 12 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,920–£27,500
Road TaxG–L
MPG26.9–49.6 mpg
Real MPG95.2%

Just reviewed...

2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car