Vauxhall Vectra (2002 - 2008)

5
reviewed by Steve McDermott on 1 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 January 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
5
reviewed by farmideas on 4 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
5
reviewed by davidj on 2 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Hinchliffe on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by Ilikeelectriccars on 7 June 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 January 2015
5
reviewed by squij on 28 November 2014
4
reviewed by Badger1986 on 28 November 2014
5
reviewed by davidj on 28 August 2014
4
reviewed by Captains3 on 14 February 2014
5
reviewed by dave dl on 31 January 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by barchettaman on 22 August 2013
2
reviewed by WilliamLX on 9 January 2013
5
reviewed by Veccy on 29 October 2012
1
reviewed by Tech-Lee on 5 September 2012
4

Design 1.8i 16v 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Dekkers42 on 22 May 2011
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Good roomy family car, quiet comfortable and economical

The best car I have ever owned, comfortable and with room for 4 adults to sit in comfort on long runs plus enough toys to keep the driver happy, with every option provided except sat-nav. To help longer legged rear seat passengers, the passengers in the front need to shift their seats forward a little.
It will take 3 adults in the back, but with less comfort in longer runs.
I seem to have picked the most reliable model, the 1.8i Variable Valve (VVT) Design version which gives reasonable performance with good fuel economy: however I cannot fit LPG on this latest VVT engine.
I normally get 35 mpg with a mixture of town and highway driving, (manual transmission) and it will easily give just over 42 mpg on long runs at 70mph: 45 mpg is available driving at 60 mph.

Following Honest John's good advice, I picked the Vectra version with small 16 inch alloy wheels, so it is strictly a family car. The chassis does not cope well with boy racer type driving: driving fast round winding country roads means one can feel the car lurch around and wallow.

My main gripes?
a) Those stupid, maddening turn indicators.
b) Like most modern hatchbacks rear view vision is poor and I had to get reversing warning indicators fitted. Do NOT buy the official GM reversing warning indicators as they are ludicrously expensive: I had a local body repair shop fit non GM ones which cost just £25: the GM ones cost £250!
c) The gearbox is baulky on lower gears, but it is not a big deal.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Andrew_C on 10 May 2011
4
reviewed by Norb on 2 March 2011
4
reviewed by saxon1056 on 31 December 2010
3
reviewed by Andy 94 on 12 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,920–£27,500
Road TaxG–L
MPG26.9–49.6 mpg
Real MPG95.2%

Just reviewed...

2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car