Vauxhall Astra Sport Tourer (2010 - 2016)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 December 2019
4
reviewed by Stevenh365 on 29 July 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 March 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 December 2015
1

1.3 CDTi Ecoflex Exclusiv

reviewed by Dave_Holland on 16 October 2014
1
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Gearbox Failure after less than a year!

I've had the Astra since November 2013 ('63 reg) and have covered 29k in it (company car with majority business and some personal use).

Up until recently I was reasonably satisfied with the car; it's nice enough to look at, handles pretty well, it's comfortable and even the base model is nicely equipped. It's got a massive loadspace and is really practical. My only issue up until this point was The 1.3 CDTi engine; it's very underpowered for a car of this size - 95 PS and less than 200Nm is just not enough with a full load on the motorway. You have to drive it hard to get anywhere which also compromises fuel economy, which is meant to be this car's strongpoint - I'm only achieving an indicated 49 mpg on average with mainly motorway miles.

HOWEVER - last week, the gearbox failed completely without any warning; no whines or crunches, just a sudden bang as I went to pull off from a junction. I lost all drive and at first thought it was the clutch but back at the Vauxhall dealership they confirmed a number of internal gerarbox components had failed and they'd have to swap out the unit.

Thankfully it's covered under warranty and even if it wasn't the lease company would foot the bill. However such a major mechanical failure at this age and mileage is absolutely unnaceptable and from what I can see, this is sadly not an isolated case and Vauxhall are still churning out Insignias and Astra with these major faults. What if this were to have occurred after the warranty had expired? Put it another way - on average the car will cost you around 8p a mile in gearboxes alone.

Ultimately I would absolutely not recommend an Astra to anyone, such a major failure is inexcusable for such a large car manufacturer. Buy one at your own peril.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Dan_Gers on 22 February 2014
2
reviewed by stojom on 4 August 2013
3
reviewed by S400 on 18 May 2013
3
reviewed by micksumo on 20 November 2012
4
reviewed by stojom on 18 September 2012
4
reviewed by dobster on 29 October 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£16,480–£26,305
Road TaxA–H
MPG38.2–78.5 mpg
Real MPG76.9%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car