Subaru Outback (2014 - 2021)

5
reviewed by Mark Austin on 20 October 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 September 2021
4
reviewed by NH74 on 30 August 2021
4

2.5i SE Premium

reviewed by watney on 12 August 2021
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Still good but a couple of niggles.

I've now had the car for just over three years, with the past 18 months being restricted by covid lockdowns. In general I'm still happy with the car and the ownership experience, although the six year service was a shock, to say the least, at over £800. This was in large part due to the six-yearly change of fuel filter, pushing things up by about £200. Otherwise, the niggles:-
1. Rain sensor fluid leak down the inside of the windscreen. The unit was replaced FOC the first time but not the second. "You can't have warranty on a warranty..." To me that just means that a poorly designed or made item is palmed off onto owners. As I am not so old that I can't tell whether it's raining or not, I decided to do without another replacement. As it happens, the system appears to work fine without whatever the fluid was.
2. Satnav. Out of date for the UK at least and Subaru have an outfit in Hungary to do the updating. Problem is that it was going to cost "at least" £180 for them to provide the "update" - but it would still be two years out of date for UK roads. My old £90 Tom-Tom gives free updates for life so I just dusted it off and will buy another if I need to. Subaru needs a change here.

Reliability is good apart from those bits mentioned above, both of which I could actually live without anyway. I really do wish they had not opted for - and continue to provide - mandatory keyless entry and start. Total security failure as far as I'm concerned and caused me extra expenditure for a wheel lock.

Fuel consumption is "fair" at 27.5 mpg over my 25000 miles with the car, with nearly all of my journeys for the last 18 months being short. That said, I was only getting 25 from my big diesel Land Rovers and Jeep (I did like the Jeep though), so I'm OK with Subaru's 2.5 petrol.

I'm still looking to take this car well into six figures mileage.

I read "Cluedo's" write-up with interest. I agree with him/her and would not be happy at all with that £3300 bill. How on Earth did a camera inside the car get dirty anyway?

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by Cluedo on 28 May 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 May 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 December 2020
5
reviewed by watney on 17 September 2019
4
reviewed by watney on 21 July 2019
5
reviewed by J M Sheldon on 25 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 February 2019
4
reviewed by watney on 26 January 2019
5
reviewed by Foelboy on 13 June 2016
5
reviewed by d5se on 12 June 2015

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,995–£35,325
Road TaxF–J
MPG38.7–47.8 mpg
Real MPG90.4%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Stephen WilkinsonI
4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car