Subaru Outback (2014 - 2021)

5
reviewed by Mark Austin on 20 October 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 September 2021
4
reviewed by NH74 on 30 August 2021
4
reviewed by watney on 12 August 2021
1
reviewed by Cluedo on 28 May 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 May 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 December 2020
5
reviewed by watney on 17 September 2019
4
reviewed by watney on 21 July 2019
5
reviewed by J M Sheldon on 25 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 February 2019
4
reviewed by watney on 26 January 2019
5

2.0D SE Premium Manual

reviewed by Foelboy on 13 June 2016
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Solid and secure, satisfies your driving needs

As a high mileage driver (around 50k per year) I was looking for a strong vehicle to cope with the various road conditions as well as offer reliability and comfort. The Outback has delivered on that without exceptions.

It is comfortable for a 600 miles in a day journey, to a short trip down to the shops. The interior does impress with the functional design, and has all the modern conveniences required (GPS, USB charger, etc.). I now commute about 1,000 miles a week - 95% motorway, and at a steady 70 to 75 mph, have seen a return of 51 mpg. Which I am very happy with given the permanent 4WD. And that fact it does offer an excellent 4WD system, which provides strong cornering ability for what is after all a tall and heavy vehicle.

The ride could do with some more compliance, yet now that I know the ride condition, I have become adjusted to the slight stiffness depending on road surface underneath. One area for clear improvement is engine power. At 148 bhp and 350 NM from a 2 litre engine it could do with 'tuning' - something I am investigating (although 'loss' of warranty would be a factor to consider). The power boost would help with overtaking and general motorway acceleration - sometimes need to plan a little too much ahead due to 'lack' of power. Not a major issue, it needs a bit more oomph...

The Subaru Outback can be considered a left-field choice, and I like that. I see the various Audi Allroads on the motorway, and think 'that's a poor man's Subaru' (not in the cost of the vehicle, more the character of the driver! - only joking).

Overall, I potentially see this as a vehicle to take to 250k over the next 5 to 7 years. Not particularly worried about depreciation, and am likely to replace like-with-like when the next generation model appears. Consider what you really need a car to do, rather than what you want it to do - there is a subtle yet important difference. A good choice for the Thinking Man/Woman driver out there.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by d5se on 12 June 2015

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,995–£35,325
Road TaxF–J
MPG38.7–47.8 mpg
Real MPG90.4%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Stephen WilkinsonI
4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car