Mazda CX-5 (2017 on)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 September 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 August 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 August 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 August 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 July 2019
5
reviewed by J T on 1 April 2019
5
reviewed by Dean Elsworth on 23 October 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 September 2018
1

2.2 Diesel Automatic 5 dr Nav.

reviewed by Andrew Greening on 28 May 2018
1
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Great package shame about the engine

Our first Brand New CX-5 Diesel Automatic, but not our first new Mazda, we have had 2 New MX-5's and a new Mazda3 diesel manual that we had for 3 years giving us no problems whatever, leading us to go for the CX-5 Diesel as a result, plus our secondhand MX5, Mk3-.which we still have and love to bits.
The CX-5, initially, it was absolutely superb having had a fantastic makeover outside along with a sumptuous leather interior being a 2 fwd automatic which we took on our first long trip to the Jurassic Coast, For a high riding SUV we achieved a really good MPG around 50 MPG and was, after the 3 found to be a much quieter driver/passenger compartment. So far so good.

In May 2018 and 2270 miles on the odometer my wife started the CX-5 up at our home address and to my horror it started on 3 cylinders with such a mechanical rattle I expected an imminent catastrophic failure prompting me to tell her nibs to shut it down.
She then informed me it had done this once before at the car park where she worked prompting 3 of her work colleagues some fifty feet away to look on in astonishment due to the noise made on start up
The CX-5 was uplifted to the Garage we purchased it from via Mazda Assist where it was investigated and found by the computer ....No Faults.

I was not surprised as this was a mechanical problem NOT an electronic one, being somewhat cynical I have vidoe'd each start-up from cold since this has happened in which out of 11 starts she has made 4 three cylinder starts with various levels of noise attached.

Once she has been started this is never apparent and there are no mechanical rattles knocks or clonks and she drives so well you would not believe anything was untoward.

It has been back to the Garage 4 times since this occurrence, whereby Mazda UK have only authorised a Fuel injector check and Compression check both of which revealed nothing amiss which was of no surprise to me. I have indicated that this was an issue regarding oil and/or the oil pump-relief valve which was dismissed other than to be informed that Mazda UK would ONLY authorise the sump to be removed for a PHOTOGRAPH to be taken at OUR expense ( £116 ) and if any oil leak occurred afterwards it would be between ourselves and the garage to fix

I have been informed since purchase that |Mazda have indicated that the latest Skyactiv diesels may under certain circumstances develop piston slap on cold start up, well, this sounded like a piston break up to me and I DO have 13 years Motor Vehicle experience as a Technician along with 45 years of driving all types of Vehicle up to and including HGV-1 Artic's in which I have NEVER heard any noise like this one.

Mazda UK and Europe have been found by me to severely.wanting in their customer dealing and leave me absolutely cold in trying to satisfy my concern over this cold start issue failing to address my concerns as the vehicle in which this engine could fail completely as it is used for a daily commute by my wife on the A34 Dual Carriageway which is the heaviest used carriageway in the COUNTRY leaving her exposed to danger should it do so from other traffic who could pile into the back of the vehicle.

Given the situation at present I cannot recommend Mazda as a company to anyone who expects the highest quality from it's products and would dissuade anyone from making a purchase of the Latest Skyactive diesel range in any of it's range of vehicles

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Edward Mason on 4 January 2018

Write your review

About this car

Price£26,400–£38,010
Road TaxD–G
MPG42.8–57.6 mpg
Real MPG86.9%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by fodalfa
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car