Mazda 6 Tourer (2012 on)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 July 2021
4
reviewed by C.Milne on 27 October 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 April 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 July 2019
1
reviewed by Sparky Jim on 18 March 2019
4
reviewed by Ed Ruddick on 16 November 2017
4
reviewed by Ed Ruddick on 16 November 2017
1

2.2D 150ps SE-L Nav 5dr Estate

reviewed by rodmca1 on 27 April 2017
1
Overall rating
4
How it drives
1
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
1
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Worst car I've ever owned in 40 years

My car has been a complete dog. When it has been running, it gets 41 mpg on a run. Since it's 50000 mile service, it's had three complete engine rebuilds, two complete replacements of the engine's wiring harness and two seized brake calipers at the rear. It has now done 68000 and has spent 22 weeks in the last 8 months off the road. It's had two new turbos, two new exhaust manifolds, a new oil pump and a new cylinder head and valves. It's had lots of other things too that Mazda won't admit to. All the engine issues have been fixed under warranty, but the wiring and brakes have been at my cost (over £2000).

Since September, it has never managed more than 1000 miles without a 3 week visit to the garage. Mazda have contributed a little, but they just refuse to accept liability and that the car needs to be scrapped. Any car that cannot be relied upon to complete a journey without full recovery (6 times now) is not really a valid mode of transport. I even wrote to Mazda head office in Japan, but they've just ignored me.

Two important facts : 1. I had (in the dim past), an 3 year old Austin Maestro as a pool car with 90000 miles on the clock. That was a better car than this piece of rubbish.
2. I bought it because I had the previous model (6 Sport Tourer) and had 145000 trouble free miles in 4 years.

Conclusion - the SkyActive engine was not ready for production, and I got a terrible one. Mazdas can't even repair them. For a new turbo and exhause camshaft to wear out in less than 8000 miles is just deplorable - but it's happened to me. I'm sure they are OK now, but do not buy one registered before Summer 2014 - it will let you down

Report as offensive

Write your review

About this car

Price£21,725–£29,795
Road TaxB–E
MPG47.9–67.3 mpg
Real MPG76.6%

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by simon3030
 

Value my car