What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Honda Accord Tourer (2008 - 2015)

5
reviewed by Karen's kars on 6 September 2017
5
reviewed by tigeraqua on 5 September 2017
5
reviewed by Iain Spence on 7 June 2017
4
reviewed by Honda Fan on 3 March 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
3

Tourer 2.2 i-DTEC auto

reviewed by Braz on 16 April 2013
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

A practical & comfortable car but not without its faults

I needed a fairly roomy station wagon to replace mt Nissan X-trail but didn't want the bulk of an SUV. The Accord tourer met this requirement perfectly. It is extremely comfortable and quiet, can carry 5 people easily and with the back seats down can carry two bicycles without having to remove wheels.

It's handling is quite good, though not to the same standard as a BMW, the ride is compliant but can get quite noisy on rough roads. The economy is Ok at about 39mpg overall - mainly town driving with 42mpg available on long haul drives.

Reliablility has been dissapointing. At 15 months the battery failed for no apparent reason. The replacement has been fine but was not covered by the warranty. At 25 00miles I needed to replace 2 tyres because those on the right hand side of the car had worn badly on the inner most inch of the tyre. The rear springs were removed and re tempered to correct the ride height and the rear camber was corrected by pulling out the top suspension mounting point. This was paid for by Honda and they contributed to my tyre costs.

This week I see that the steel frame of the glass in the sunroof has gone rusty in a couple of places (picture attached). This after 3 years use and always parked in a garage. Apparently this is a regular problem - my dealer has 2 other cars to fix. Honda have undertaken to fix this, despite the warranty having expired.

If you have an Accord with a sun roof, I suggest that you check it for rust now.

I did not expect this of a Honda and it spoils a very competent car.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Rich320d on 2 January 2013
4
reviewed by bass_alt on 24 March 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£23,410–£32,925
Road TaxF–K
MPG32.5–51.4 mpg
Real MPG92.4%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Jacques Tati
5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car