What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Ford Focus 2011

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 July 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
1
reviewed by edno1 on 4 September 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 June 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 January 2016
5

Zetec S 1.6T 182 EcoBoost 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by AP1 on 2 January 2016
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

A very good family hatch back

This car was bought to replace my wife's 2006 Fiesta ST (see previous review) as a more practical proposition.

We bought the car at 4 months old with 1700 miles on the clock. The previous owner changes his car regularly and he added nearly £2,000 of extras to the car including larger wheels (really finish off the styling/bodykit), part leather seats, cruise control etc.

To drive, the car is not as sporty as the Fiesta it replaced, or my Focus ST, but it has very sharp steering, a snappy 6 speed gearbox and a good handling/ride balance.

The engine is flexible and responsive with plenty of mid-range punch for overtaking. Though not as smooth as a multi-cylinder it is smooth and quiet for an in-line 4. In my view (I own a 1.0T 100 Ecoboost Fiesta) this engine, in 150 or 182 guises is more suited to a car the size and weight of the Focus than the 1.0T Ecoboost engine is. Normal driving, including around town use and some long journeys results in a combined average MPG of circa 38 - 39. The best we have ever managed was on a trip to Sweden (longer journeys/less traffic/much better roads) where we averaged 46 MPG over circa 2,500 miles.

The car is generally very quiet, however tyre noise is noticeable and the 18 inch wheels with low profile tyres probably do not help this.

The cabin is reasonably roomy, though rear seat leg room is slightly less than my previous shape Focus. Equipment levels are good and the voice operated Ford Sync system with hands free phone system works very well. The power folding mirrors are useful, as is the heated front screen and the approach lights when the car is locked/unlocked.

The car has now done circa 21,000 miles and the only fault has been the driver's door switch pack refusing the operate the mirror adjustment; all fixed under warranty.

Overall I think this is a very good car to own and drive. It is well designed and gives a good balance of performance, economy, space and comfort. Yes, it is not a ST, but it is a very good 'cooking' version of the Focus which provides a bit more comfort (ride quality) and plenty of performance for every day driving.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by CharlieWalker on 17 November 2015
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 November 2015
2
reviewed by Pedro63 on 4 July 2015
3
reviewed by Siena on 27 November 2014
2
reviewed by malteser2710 on 30 October 2014
4
reviewed by brighteyes on 4 August 2014
5
reviewed by shaft1960 on 29 July 2014
5
reviewed by edno1 on 7 June 2014
3
reviewed by Ronnie78 on 5 January 2014
5
reviewed by Artworker on 29 November 2013
5
reviewed by lazzer on 28 October 2013
4
reviewed by Don1988 on 23 October 2013
3
reviewed by garlands14 on 3 August 2013
1
reviewed by 2012 focus owner on 29 May 2013
4
reviewed by Bantamspaul on 14 March 2013
1
reviewed by Matt-Nav on 25 October 2012
3
reviewed by LiamSri on 11 May 2012
5
reviewed by Little Willy on 23 April 2012
3
reviewed by nichollz on 31 January 2012
4
reviewed by the1beard on 22 January 2012
2
reviewed by TJ69 on 7 January 2012
4
reviewed by Gurloes on 6 January 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£13,995–£33,580
Road TaxA–F
MPG44.8–83.1 mpg
Real MPG76.3%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by theanalyst
5
submitted by Brian Price
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car