BMW X1 (2009 - 2015)

5
reviewed by Sandra lyons on 19 November 2021
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 October 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 June 2018
4
reviewed by Rick Gan on 7 February 2018
4
reviewed by supersmashing on 10 December 2017
2
reviewed by Mr Samuel P Morrison on 5 March 2017
1
reviewed by Scotty Dog on 29 June 2015
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 April 2015
5

sDrive 20d EfficientDynamics 163 5dr SUV

reviewed by jamescw8 on 17 March 2015
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Fast, comfortable, economical, practical and spacious.

I bought this car about 2 months ago and it has been a pleasure to drive. We had a BMW 118d M Sport before which we found a bit too small. With the X1 there is plenty of room for 5 adults with a large boot and lots of headroom.

I have to say that this car looks great inside and out especially in black with the silver X Line exterior package. The car came with standard 17" alloys which we have upgraded to the 18" BMW 323 honeycomb alloys which look fantastic and it still rides just as well as the 17's. We now use the 17's as a winter set which compensates for the fact it is an SDrive to overcome those tricky winter conditions but still retain over 62mpg.

The full leather is a must as the cloth looks and feels a bit cheap. Don't worry if they are not heated because in the time it takes for the heated seat to warm up you would have already heated it up by sitting on it. Make sure you opt for a sat nav screen rather than the cheap storage cupboard. We have the Professional 8.8" screen and it looks brilliant and performs well with the ability to have it split screen and watch DVD movies with multiple map views and directions. The Pro system also comes with a large hard drive built in so that you can upload all your music and movies via USB which is great. There is plenty of storage and plenty of interior lights, there is also some really nice LED door handle lights which look great.

The performance is more than enough with 8.3sec to 60 and it pulls really well in 3rd and 4th for overtaking. You would be hard pushed to tell the difference between this slightly de-tunned (20bhp less) ED20d and the standard 20d especially when considering the large gain in mpg and reduction tax costs. The handling is surprisingly good considering the raised SUV ride height, it is very well balanced with plenty of grip. Being a BMW it dominates handling and performance in this small SUV class. Refinement is second to none at all speeds and it soaks up the bumps and potholes well. The diesel engine can be noticeable in the cabin at low revs but unnoticeable after 20mph. Being higher up means visibility is very good from all aspects.

It isn't too long or too wide making it easy for the wife to park with the help of the front and rear parking sensors. It is a great family car which is fantastic to drive given its BMW pedigree. I would recommend this car but think carefully about the spec engine and drive.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by supersmashing on 15 March 2015
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 December 2012
5
reviewed by threeshoes on 10 June 2012
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 November 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£24,230–£35,105
Road TaxC–I
MPG36.7–62.8 mpg
Real MPG83.4%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer