BMW X1 (2009 - 2015)

5
reviewed by Sandra lyons on 19 November 2021
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 October 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 June 2018
4
reviewed by Rick Gan on 7 February 2018
4
reviewed by supersmashing on 10 December 2017
2
reviewed by Mr Samuel P Morrison on 5 March 2017
1
reviewed by Scotty Dog on 29 June 2015
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 April 2015
5
reviewed by jamescw8 on 17 March 2015
4
reviewed by supersmashing on 15 March 2015
5

sDrive 20d EfficientDynamics 5dr 4 X 4

reviewed by Anonymous on 1 December 2012
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Better than it looks!

Not perhaps the most aesthetic BMW , but this car grows on you.
I sold my 2011 520 Touring auto because my wife would not drive it. It was the best car I have owned and a reluctant sale. It was a hard act to follow, and for me the X1 was something of a come-down. However, I must say the car has grown on me. No, it hasn't the luxury of the 520, nor some of the technology - but there's something about the X1 that is hard to define but perhaps it's "good fun". That's not meant as a put-down. It's interior is large enough, it is comfortable, the handling is good, the engine is lively, and the car feels solid. I don't share some people's criticisms of the quality of some of the trim.
True, it doesn't have the 520's touches such as Hill Hold Assistant, angle-changing seat squab, and Speed Limiter - things I found useful. The boot isn't huge, but the lurcher seems to find it adequate.
What it does have is a surprising refinement. The engine has plenty of power but once warmed up is economical. 50-60mpg is very achievable with mixed driving. Engine, tyre and wind noise are not noticeable. The car is well balanced. Grip is good - although being rear-wheel drive it won't like snow. The driving position affords good visibility. The gear-change is light but precise, and the ratios seem well suited to our speed limits. (The Eff Dynamics weighting and ratios are, I believe, different to those in the other models) The whole thing seems well bolted together.
My car came with several packages: it was one of quite a few released to dealers after the Olympic games had ended - all with various specs. The Professional sat nav is worth having, and comes with a hard-drive to download music and "office" information like addresses. Being able to send emails to the car is useful. Folding mirrors is useful, because they do project quite a long way, and an auto-dip rear-view mirror is part of the same package. Xenon lights was something I was hoping for, but very few X1s seem to have them. The car has heated seats - not something I would have specified but they certainly work well!
All-in-all then, this is a car you will warm to. Its size makes it manageable to drive and park, it behaves well, but there is still an element of a "driver's car" about it.
I am pleasantly surprised.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by threeshoes on 10 June 2012
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 November 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£24,230–£35,105
Road TaxC–I
MPG36.7–62.8 mpg
Real MPG83.4%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer