BMW 4 Series (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 September 2021
5
reviewed by b6waf on 16 March 2020
5
reviewed by Robert wheeler on 28 September 2018
5
reviewed by LEXOWNER on 24 August 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 August 2017
5
reviewed by Friendlybear on 23 August 2015
5

420d M Sport 184 Auto 2dr Coupe

reviewed by jah216 on 16 December 2014
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Elegant motoring

I had already seen this very car finished in Glacier Silver on display in the Dick Lovett Swindon showroom when I had called in to take a quick look at the 4 Series Grand Coupe when passing, and was very taken with it; a few weeks later the sales team were in contact regarding some special offers available in order to achieve their September sales target and after another visit and a truly unbelievable and extremely acceptable finance and part exchange package I found myself as the very proud owner.

In my opinion this (along with the 4 series Grand Coupe) are the best looking BMW’s for some years and there is not an unresolved line, curve or detail in the design. It is my first real experience of diesel motoring and has taken a little getting used to, although the brilliant 8-speed auto with sports shift suits the car admirably., and I would suggest should be an essential option to fully appreciate the car.

At present I am achieving (according to the on-board computer) around 45mpg, which is about 10% better than my previous 116i petrol; this has been mostly over a 12 mile round trip to work on winter mornings so hopefully this will improve with more miles (currently just 2,000 covered) and in more clement weather, but as I did not buy the car primarily for economy it is not a big issue for me if it does not. I do not find it very noisy even on start up or tick over and with the low mileage I have not extended the revs too much, but from what I have read beyond 3000 rpm is not necessary anyway.

I have already experienced and commented on the brilliant 8-speed auto gear change in my 116i review, the addition of the flappy paddle gear change works well but if not in Sport mode it very quickly reverts to the highest gear - again with more miles I may be encouraged to make more use of this, as it is fun and much, much smoother than the sometimes clunky PDK system I had on a previous Porsche Boxster.

Reading various road tests I was a little concerned that the M-sport ride on 19 inch wheels and run-flats would be harsh - the ever helpful and courteous Luke Day at Dick Lovett Swindon arranged for me to try the 4 series both with and without M-sport suspension and frankly neither my wife or I could tell the difference, and some of the local roads we chose to drive on were and are quite bad; it is firm but also perfectly compliant and and acceptable to us and certainly not spine jarring as I had anticipated. The electronic damper system may indeed improve the ride but what you don’t have you don’t miss and in view of the offer to take the showroom display model I was very happy to make the sacrifice. I don’t know if the sports seats add to this experience but they are jolly good anyway being very comfortable, heated and multi-adjustable.

Everything else works well in the BMW tradition; the car has BMW Business navigation which seems to have been tweeked from my 1-Series version and simply works. Standard music system is OK, if a little flat at times for some music, but this could of course be my hearing and I tend to prefer spoken word podcasts or radio programmes so again a small sacrifice. The car came fitted with front and rear parking sensors, auto headlights, folding mirrors, heated leather sports seats in black, split folding rear seats to extend the already cavernous boot. (All a long way from my first car - a Mk 1 Cortina I inherited from my Father!).

We intend to do some Continental motoring and tour Scotland in the next few years and I cannot think of a more rounded vehicle in which to enjoy the experiences that lay ahead.

Early days of ownership of course but what you want to know is after 10 weeks and 2,000 miles how would I initially appraise the car? Answer - I intend to keep this car for 5-6 years because it is the best looking, the best driving and the most enjoyable car I have ever owned. Simples!

(As an aside I have taken a 3 year, deferred for one year, replacement cost GAP insurance policy from Warranty Direct - £185. This must be a no-brainer for a £40,000 car and much, much cheaper than a similar policy offered by BMW)

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by CHARB on 18 February 2014
5
reviewed by Quadlock on 16 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 December 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£30,610–£46,095
Road TaxC–I
MPG34.9–70.6 mpg
Real MPG75.2%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous