What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

SEAT Altea XL (2007 - 2015)

3
reviewed by SunnysideUK on 30 August 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 March 2018
4
reviewed by marty342 on 15 June 2015
4
reviewed by thecrutch on 26 October 2013
5
reviewed by billy7 on 4 June 2013
2

Freetrack 4

reviewed by aj on 5 September 2012
2
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Nice drive but prone to build quality problems, expensive to maintain.

We bought this car as we wanted a family car with 4 wheel drive to help with traction on muddy and snowy or icy roads in our rural location. Not for off road driving. The car is not slow and drives really well the fuel economy is acceptable for a car of this size with four wheel drive. The haldex based 4 wheel drive system has worked well and the car has negotiated conditions of snow and mud that have had two wheel drive cars completely stuck. It drives far better than 4 wheel drives designed for more off road use such as the Freelander or RAV4.
Inside space is good but this is not an MPV however it is a comfortable car for a family of 4 or 5.
Our car was affected by the recall for the Piezo injectors and had warranty claims approved for a split CV joint boot at only 2 years old, gas struts failed for the tailgate (covered by warranty), the pop out headlight washer failed (warranty again).
The front of the vehicle was damaged by someone backing into it and it took nearly three weeks to obtain a body part to allow it to be fixed.
Finally the rear diff has just failed and we are expecting a bill of circa £1500 to replace it it is only 4 years old and has covered 42K miles.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by richardf on 10 December 2011
5
reviewed by richardf on 3 December 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,100–£21,985
Road TaxC–J
MPG30.6–62.8 mpg
Real MPG85.6%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by jawj
4
submitted by kevin wickham
1
submitted by Roger Wyles
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car