Jeep Patriot (2007 - 2011)

5
reviewed by Catherine Murphy on 5 March 2020
1
reviewed by Grez on 2 September 2014
2

Jeep Patriot 2.0 LTD CRD

reviewed by psilvester44 on 14 July 2013
2
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Good Car to Drive but had some problems

I bought this car from a Authorised Jeep Dealer in November 2011 and was very impressed with the ride , equipment and build quality It was great to drive and I had high hopes. The CRD Diesel engine pulled like a train and it was both economical and fun to drive.
BUT I had some issues with the dar and as i type it is in a garage with a cracked Turbo hose.
Problems so far.

Ball Joint needed to be replaced on drivers side front ( under warrantee)

Issues with Windscreen wipers, this was a circuit board and would have cost nearly £1000.00 but was also covered under warrantee.

I also had issues with the car 'going flat' if i left it more than 3 days, the Jeep dealer gave me £70.00 towards a new battery, as thats what they said the issue was, actually it wasn't. I found the problem by looking at the Jeep Patriot Forum ( good tip there, look up problems on that forum they really know Jeeps). Anyway they said it was the torch unit in the read curtesy light unit shorting when you close the hatchback. I removed it and all was fine.

Latest issue is that a Turbo Hose has cracked, I actually think that this has been ongoing for a while and its in the shop now being fixed, (seems a common fault and one that if I had the space to work in Im sure I could fix myself) which will cost im told about £200.00 to £300.00 if thats all thats wrong.

All said though the car is very capable and if it stays reliable after all that Ill keep it.

I must just close by saying I traded in a Suzuki Jimny for this, now the Jimny is a very small 4 x 4. BUT i had it for 5 years and it never, and I mean NEVER missed a beat. There is a lesson there somewhere.
Update july2013
So the jeep now has more faults, its decided that when it feels like it it will put on one of the rear bakes. Most disconcerting and makes you jump when you are driving it. So I decided enough is enough and I'm trading it in, and that was the next shock. I bought for it for over 11 grand 18 months ago is now worth 5. Having just got over that it then decides to go into "limp home mode" when I drive the car home.

So I'm trading it in for. Peugeot and will never buy another jeep as long as I live. Land Rover are much better.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by mr strange on 21 February 2012
4
reviewed by patriotgames on 18 February 2012
5
reviewed by McSwede on 30 June 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,995–£22,995
Road TaxH–K
MPG31.0–42.8 mpg
Real MPG91.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by GeePee Pee
5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car