Honda Insight (2009 - 2014)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 August 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 March 2020
5
reviewed by Alan Bellinger on 16 September 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 August 2017
5
reviewed by robert astle on 3 August 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 June 2017
5
reviewed by Jubilee on 17 July 2014
3

Honda Insight ES

reviewed by JKW on 13 September 2013
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
2
Overall reliability

So nearly very good.

My initial impression of the car was that externally it was a lovely shape with plenty of style, but internally very much built down to a budget price. Comfort & class came far behind the obvious "technology designed hybrid system", with hard plastics almost everywhere which contributed to the many squeaks and rattles experienced ( I subsequently padded out / insulated these areas to minimise the effects).
I was, however, happy to accept these foibles in return for a car with very low running costs that looked good and drove well, if a little hard riding particularly for rear seat passengers.
This was until it failed me (full story elsewhere on the Forum) - the CVT transmission went into "limp mode", caused by swarf blocking an engine speed sensor - the result ? - a bill for £10,000 to replace the gearbox ! This, after meticulous servicing (by Honda) & only 29000 miles travelled, but 3 months out of warranty.
After a long & protracted debate with Honda UK, their initial goodwill offer was increased to pay all the costs less VAT, but quite naturally, my faith in the car has been badly affected.
Would I recommend the car ? The later Insights do seem better built inside & I gather the suspension has been improved, so the answer is "Yes, providing a warranty is maintained".

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by henry11 on 4 December 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£16,995–£23,595
Road TaxA–B
MPG61.4–68.9 mpg
Real MPG77.8%

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer