BMW 3 Series Convertible (2007 - 2012)

3
reviewed by symonh on 1 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 September 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2017
5
reviewed by John Holton on 16 May 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 January 2015
3
reviewed by Yorky Bob on 8 July 2014
4
reviewed by filkoj on 24 January 2014
5

330d M Sport Auto 2dr Open Car

reviewed by nyg on 17 March 2012
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Everything it says on the box & a little bit more besides

The car is now 9 months old & I still get the same "new car buzz" every time I get in. Handling is excellent despite the extra weight of the metal folding roof, although fuel economy comes in a long way short of manufacturer stats....but then so does every car these days.

This is my 4th beemer but first diesel, and my pre-purchase diesel concerns (noisy, smelly, rattly & too low revving) were quickly dispersed. In fact from an engine perspective (only engine I hasten to add!) performance & feel is very similar to that of a large (5 litre plus) V8 - a light touch of the foot & the torque effortlessly powers the car up to speed. Every time I get even close to flooring the accelerator I still grin from ear to ear.....

I spent some cash on some expensive options (Professional Sat Nav, auto box, upgraded speakers etc), and overall I am pleased with them despite the price. If you are a tecky / geek there's tons of stuff to enjoy - I'm not but my son is......Phone connectivity is very good - I particularly like the iphone app that enables you to lock or unlock the car from anywhere in the world (ever gone on holiday & thought did I lock the car?).

The folding metal roof is a work of art & gets a fair few comments from passers by ("is it from Transformers?"). Boot is not unusable even with roof down - but I have low expectations ....if you want a big boot don't buy a convertible.

Roof up & you wouldn't know its a convertible (some of my passengers have been very surprised & thoughts it was a coupe. Roof down & it's a pleasure & cannot hear the diesel engine.

Driving position & comfort is very good, as is spacious cabin for 2 people. It works ok on short trips as a 4 seater But not more than that - would be ok on longer journeys for 2 young kids

All in all a great car & plan to keep it for a few years. Although an M3 is very tempting.......

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by peteindorset on 14 February 2012
5
reviewed by Yorky Bob on 22 August 2011
1
reviewed by C1J on 7 April 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,235–£46,770
Road TaxE–L
MPG29.4–55.4 mpg
Real MPG85.6%

Just reviewed...

2
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Nick E
1
submitted by Adrian Borchev
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car