Diesel filled with unleaded - taxi iom 247
Just bought a 2001 Lupo,1.7 sdi,38k. My wife's dizzy friend filled this with unleaded last week & drove it less than 6 miles till it came to a stand.She hasnt even had any proper mechanical advice yet & just simply listened to the various horror stories about.Result was her hubby has gone out & bought her a new motor (more dosh than sense).So shes round tonight asking what to do with the Lupo,I asked what she wanted for it,replied 200, I choked on my whiskey,ran upstairs & came back with 10 twentys.Will tow it up to my indie 2morrow for the once over,im hoping for an easy fix as remember being told that the sdi type wouldnt be too affected by this.Hoping that ive got a real bargain here,will really get me loads of brownie points with the wife if she gets this little runaround.So what do you all out there think the worst diagnosis could be,im no mechanic & simply took a gamble,here's hoping!!!!!!!
Also its got that bright red vw paintwork,looking a bit weathered,never been handwashed or polished for ages.Any recommendations on what to use to bring it back to its former glory,so many polishes & cutting products available now,don't let my taxi's get to that stage,there clayed & polished 3 times yearly,usually use autoglym,but am currently using this new Turtle Wax ice stuff,although will be no use for this job.
All advice greatly appreciated,& a free dram for you if you ever visit the Isle of Man or a pillion ride round the TT course on my CBR600
Diesel filled with unleaded - rtj70
The SDi engine is not even a turbo diesel so won't be affected the same at all. SDi stood for Suction Direct Injection.

The problem with modern diesels and petrol is the diesel is used to lubricate the high pressure pumps. The SDi won't be injecting diesel at high pressure.
Diesel filled with unleaded - dieseldogg
Erm?
Diesel filled with unleaded - SteveLee
The problem with modern diesels and petrol is the diesel is used to lubricate the