What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Vauxhall Zafira B 2005

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 May 2019
4
reviewed by Alan Burtonwood on 23 August 2018
4
reviewed by dombat on 19 March 2018
1
reviewed by helenrufus on 6 July 2016
3
reviewed by JM Prieto on 18 August 2015
5

Exclusiv 1.6i 16v 5dr People Carrier

reviewed by MTD on 22 March 2015
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Amazing value for £11k

Vauxhalls in general get a bad press, but this has been a great purchase for us, a family of 5. Was bought for 11k new instead of the Golf estate for 24k we were a week away from ordering. The Zafira is only 4.4m long but is vast inside, I am 6ft 4 and behind me the rear passenger has 23cm of knee room, compared to 13 cm in an Astra, golf or 11cm in a Focus. The car came in red with tinted windows, cruise control and front and rear parking sensors, which is pretty much all the twiddly bits we needed (paid extra for Bluetooth hands free). It is comfortable, relatively quiet inside, very good suspension (little body roll, might be a bit of the firm side for some esp compared to a Citroen) and has been totally reliable in 3 years.

The cabin is fairly grey and boring but has survived extraordinarily well up to my 3 little kids getting various fluids on it, spilt drinks, food, crayons etc, plus climbing inside when they are playing in it whilst parked. The seats only move as one bench, but we've needed the full seven seats maybe 20 times in all in 3 years so not really an issue. We can get 3 child / baby seats across the back easily, although finding the belt connecting points is tricky.

Now, the bad side - only 5 gears and a 1.6 means it struggles past 70 mph, really feels it needs a sixth gear. That's the one big penalty for buying a cheap end of line model. Around town, which is 90 percent of the time, it is fine, for those saying it's underpowered with 115 bhp should remember their dads cortinas with about 70 bhp. It's just quite low geared so not the car for doing lots of motorway miles in with this engine and only 5 speed gearbox.

The car also makes a weird vibration noise around second to third gear from the dashboard.

But it's a very, very easy car to live with, cheap to maintain, economy not too bad (around 280 miles per tank in mostly urban use), quite easy to park for a MPV with big turning circle and long nose overhang, and really spacious. I don't know it's current value but do not really mind as was only 11k to begin with. I would totally recommend it.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by fonmenage on 16 October 2014
3
reviewed by theoldboy on 29 August 2014
4
reviewed by RodM on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2014
1
reviewed by zafiramuck on 24 June 2013
1
reviewed by Dust on 13 February 2013
4
reviewed by exmulet on 7 February 2013
3
reviewed by Swiss bloke on 26 October 2012
4
reviewed by cbell on 18 March 2012
5
reviewed by jeffh42 on 19 December 2011
2
reviewed by Molnboman on 16 August 2011
4
reviewed by NBLondon on 10 April 2011
2
reviewed by Exzafiradriver on 4 April 2011
3
reviewed by bluebottle7 on 26 December 2010
3
reviewed by theoldboy on 1 October 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£13,995–£27,300
Road TaxE–L
MPG29.4–55.4 mpg
Real MPG85.3%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by jaguarR
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car