Kia Cee'd (2012 - 2018)

2
reviewed by Jamesetyefirst on 10 November 2019
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 October 2019
5
reviewed by iFocus on 8 June 2019
5

1.6 GDI 133 2 ISG 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by iFocus on 8 June 2019
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Very underrated car!

Having always wanted a Ford Focus, it turned out I had picked a very unreliable Ford Focus and having decided to go back to a Kia after being away from the brand just 18 months, I was a little reluctant to part with it as I did love the Focus for the way it drove and handled.

People always harp on how the Focus is the be all and end all of handling in a family car, but I have to say the Cee'd comes very close in the handling stakes, although in some respects it better as the handling seems to be more progressive than a Focus. (Although it could be the fact the Focus was on 90,000 miles and this Cee'd is closer to 45,000?)
The only negative is the steering, it really does lack feedback and on sport mode it just seems artificially heavy rather than having more feedback.

Back to the positives, the Cee'd is much smoother than the Focus, the gearbox is lighter and there is far more space in the cabin too. My daughters car seat fits without having to move the front passenger seat first as I had to in the Focus which was a major faff!

The boot is significantly bigger on the Cee'd having 380 litres compared with the Focus.

Specification is good on the Cee'd too, the 2 coming with Cruise control and bluetooth. Although I do miss the heated screen and climate control.

Fuel economy is excellent for a 1.6 at between 37-40mpg on my commute on motorways with heavy traffic.

This is a brilliant little car and hopefully this Cee'd will be as ultra reliable as my old Cee'd.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by fash on 2 November 2018
5
reviewed by London drac on 9 July 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 March 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 October 2016
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 April 2014
5
reviewed by trabijim on 21 December 2013
4
reviewed by disbeliever on 11 December 2013
4
reviewed by dobble on 28 October 2013
5
reviewed by s4ia on 23 August 2013
4
reviewed by disbeliever on 22 September 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,200–£24,810
Road TaxA–H
MPG38.2–78.5 mpg
Real MPG73.1%

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by Dean Wheeler
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car