BMW diesel starting - can this be true! - Sideways
I recently bought a 94 BMW 325 TDS SE. Quite happy so far but starting the thing from cold takes about 25 secs of churning. Even the handbook says this is right. Can this really be true?
I thought the Germans had technical things like this sussed.
I reckon my Dad was right all those years ago...
There must be a way round this - with some of the cars I've owned I have an enviable reputation down my road - now the neighbours are going to be folded up laughing behind their net curtains.
I'm a motoring expert - get me out of here!

Regards

Sideways
BMW diesel starting - can this be true! - Baskerville
No that can't be right, and you'll do it lasting harm if you continue. It could be that the preheater plugs are shot and need replacing. Just as an example, my Citroen diesel (1990H) starts as soon as the key is turned after the preheat light goes out.

Chris
BMW diesel starting - can this be true! - Dave N
So BMW's don't break or wear out eh? mmmmmmm.

Take a look at www.unixnerd.demon.co.uk/bmw.html Go back a couple of pages on their board and you'll see someone with the same problem, along with a bunch of other info on cold starting probs with the 2.5tdi.
BMW diesel starting - can this be true! - CMark {P}
Hi Sideways,
can you post exactly what the handbook says about the 25 secs?

CMark
BMW diesel starting - can this be true! - Sideways
Thanks for all the advice - so far...
The handbook says - Hold the ignition key in position 2 until the orange 'preheating' light goes out.
Start the engine
At extremely low teperatures it may be necessary to operate the starter motor for up to 40 seconds.!!! ...kin hell - what were they thinking when the designed this, or do BMW also sell batteries?