'I'll speak to the service manager' but doesn't - Halmer
I sat in a main dealer today on my own waiting for my car and listened to a conversation with the service receptionist.

Basically a customer's car needed new pads and discs at the front which she said needed replacing and weren't covered by warranty. After some discussion she said 'I'll speak to the service manager'.

She then held the phone by her side for thirty seconds before getting back to the client with 'I've checked and we can give you a x% discount'.

The customer readily accepted the offer.

I work in the much aligned public sector - does the private sector always operate like this? if so it stinks.

Edited by rtj70 on 05/06/2009 at 22:12

'I'll speak to the service manager' but doesn't - rtj70
The work was never covered by warranty in this instance - wear and tear. And if needed the discount could be a sign of the servicing agent wanting the work but not being seen as too desperate.

If the discount was genuine they may been lucky due to the economic climate.

So other responders here please do not assume they have been ripped off etc.

Rob (Moderator)
'I'll speak to the service manager' but doesn't - Mookfish
I think this practice is the low tech version of "computer says no", as in the receptionist gives the impression that it is not their decission so they don't have to haggle with the customer. Of course if the customer wanted more of a discount they might demand to speak to the service manager themself, but I imagine the SM is aware of this tactic and has set a discount the receptionist can give.

Edited by Mookfish on 05/06/2009 at 20:28

'I'll speak to the service manager' but doesn't - Old Navy
Sounds a bit like the salesmans ploy of "I will have to clear the deal with the sales manager". My policy is if the person I am dealing with cant "do the deal" I will speak to someone who can.
'I'll speak to the service manager' but doesn't - Falkirk Bairn