Advice on what to do now. - spence_star
Hi guys,

I am a newbie and i you have been highly recommended by a work colleague. I am in a dilemma with a company that i took my car in for repairs and they have tried to give the car back to me damaged.

My car was running as normal with some clutch issues, I took my car to a well known clutch repair chain for a clutch repair or replacement, booked it in all hunky dorie on a saturday morning.

Received a call from the company saying my flywheel is a bit damaged and instead of replacing it they could grind it down for quarter of the price. i say yes go ahead.

I then get a call to say my car is ready, so i get to the garage pay them and get into my car, i start the car and a big cloud of blue smoke comes pouring out of my exhaust, i couldn't even see. i let the car run for a while and to see if it would clear. Obviously it didn't.

I refused to take the car back and they took it in and said they will have a look, i waited for 30mins and the manager came out and said i cant figure it out leave it with me and i will strip it down and have a look.

3 days on, they take no liability and say its the coil pack and that i should pay for it as its got nothing to do with their clutch work. they pointed to the coil pack because cylinder 3 does not fire up, they changed the sparks and ignition leads as well.

i called trading standards and they said they are breaching their contract as they are giving the car back to me damaged. i threatened the head office with going ahead with trading standards, and the guy i spoke to said there's no need to do that we can work around it. he said they will get it sorted.

he then came back to me and said its a wear and tear part and has nothing to do with their work. i then gave them the benefit of the doubt and purchased a coil pack.

The result;