Vauxhall Astra Head Gasket problem - scarymary
Hello all,

I bought a automatic X-reg Vauxhall Astra from an independent dealer back in March which included a 3 month warranty from the garage. Unfortunately today the head gasket has gone, I know nothing about cars so don't know if this is something that I've done or could've prevented but it's too late now anyway! My question is, I've only driven approx 1000 miles in it since I've had it, I literally use it to drive to the station and back everyday so has very little use. In your opinion, is this a fault that could've been present when I bought the vehicle plus would I have any comeback with the garage that I bought it from even though it is past the 3 month warranty that they gave me? As I have very little knowledge on cars is there anything I can do to try and recoup some of the repair money?

Plus, as this has happened once what is the likelihood of it happening again - is it a recurrent problem?

Thanks in advance.
Vauxhall Astra Head Gasket problem - GregSwain
No comeback i'm afraid - they'll just say it was due to neglecting to check your coolant (which may or may not be true, have you lifted the bonnet in the 1000 miles you've covered?). HG *possibly* blew because of a water-leak (or blockage) causing the engine to overheat. If you get the head skimmed (and checked for cracks) and a new HG fitted, plus get the cooling system looked at it shouldn't happen again. Must say I'm surprised because these engines (especially the 8 valve) are generally reliable units. HGF doesn't generally recur unless the cause of the first failure is left unaddressed.
Vauxhall Astra Head Gasket problem - Aocal
Hi Scareymary