Calm down dear... - PoloGirl
...I'm really a very good driver!

Well, as we all know, in my recent youth, I wasn't a very good driver, and the time has come to renew the car insurance again.

Last year I think I paid about £800 fully comp, and this year the best the broker can come up with is £760, which I don't think is particularly good as I now have 3 years no claims discount and am practically an old lady (can't wait til I'm 25 and break through the magical young driver barrier!). So I've been doing some research of my own this morning.

The best quote is from the sister company of the one Michael Winner does the stupid adverts for (is that as good as naming it?sorry!). They've quoted me £560 fully comp which is a pretty big difference to the one the broker came up with. The reason it's so low is (I think) that they wouldn't let me tell them about the accident that was my fault in feb 2001 because it was more than three years ago. All the other companies I've tried to get quotes from go back five years, so I have to declare it and it bumps up the quote.

I'm just a bit uneasy about it because it's so much lower than everyone else. Have they made a mistake only asking me to go back three years? I tried to put it in on the website and it told me I couldn't because it was over 3 years ago. Is the five year thing a requirement for all insurers or do they set their own limits?

I guess I just don't want to have to make a claim and for them to say "sorry, you're uninsured because you didn't tell us about that accident" when they wouldn't let me tell them!