Insurance for New Drivers - lubbin
Hi I have held a full licence since April of this year and am finding it a nightmare trying to get car insurance.

I am thinking of buying a new car; a 'cheap-to-insure' Kia Picanto for use only by me. I have been driving a b/n Micra for 4 months and have had no accidents etc and consider myself a careful driver but obviously have no NCB. All quotes are creeping up on the £1000 mark which I cannot afford.

Can anyone suggest any better places to look?
Insurance for New Drivers - Adam {P}
Sorry mate but I presume you're around the 17 years old age? Even if you're not, the first year is always going to be a pain. A grand is cheap to be honest in your first year - I'm paying more than that in my second! You may well be a careful driver but in the eyes of the insurer's...you...well....aren't.

I would try Tesco for the first year - they were very good for me.

Hope that helps
Adam
Hey less of the assumptions! :)
You seem to have me down as some kinda boy racer scally mister - I'm 22 and female, but that doesn't seem to make any odds to the insurers anyway, as you say.
Thanks for the tip I've had a look at Tesco online but the Picanto isn't listed...
Insurance for New Drivers - Galaxy
lubbin,

My 20 year old niece has just passed her driving test and taken out an insurance to drive her boyfriends car. He can't drive at present.

Direct Line quoted her about £900. This is fully comprehensive, but the excess on that is a whopping £400 !!!! She has other girlfriends who own cars and they are all paying around this figure and with a similar excess.

So, I'm very sorry to say that you are looking at about a four figure sum. I know that Direct Line will accept payment by installments, that's what my niece has opted for, but, of course, it still does have to be paid.