Ford Focus - Buying first car under £1000 - bassplayer88

Hi, I'm new to the forum.

Have tried to seach above topic in forum but not got very far so apologies if there is a thread on this and ive missed it.

Anyway i'm new to driving and looking to buy my first car, albiet in my 30's!

I have a definate £1000 to spend possibly a couple 100 more if current ebay sales go well.

Feel ive done a reasonable amount of research online and dont have anyone close to me who is particually knowledgeable with cars, so maybe you can help.

Currently looking at;

more than10years old 1.3 endura engined Fiesta's (with lowish milage) and aware of peoples mixed feeling on them.

ford focus' up to 10 years old (with a bit more milage)

corsas

Anyway open to opinion and suggestion and sorry if this is too general a noob question for the forum.

Thanks

Ford Focus - Buying first car under £1000 - HandCart

HonestJohn himself rates the 1.25 litre Fiesta as a possible overall best balance of purchase price /reliability /running costs / usability (acceptability).

I quite like the 1100cc Suzuki Alto for rock-bottom costs (£30 a year tax, lots of mpg), but it depends if it's spacious (or safe) enough for you, and probably isn't good for long distances.

Corollas, Civics and Almeras are also worth a look.

Ford Focus - Buying first car under £1000 - scot22

It was a shame when they stopped producing the Corolla. From what I've always read a first class car.

Ford Focus - Buying first car under £1000 - elekie&a/c doctor

Fiesta models prior to 2002 are total rot boxes.I would avoid.A 10 year old Focus would be a solid purchase with very few problems.A 1600 model is perfectly adequate.As I have always said,No garage ever got rich fixing Focus models.

Thanks, I was beginning to come to same conclusion

Ford Focus - Buying first car under £1000 - Andrew-T