BMW 3 Series - BMW 3 Series - Is this a good deal? - Omariqy

Hi all

New to the forum. I have been considering a new car for a few months now. I spoke to a BMW dealer (Sytner). They have offered me the following car on a PCP deal.

- BMW 320d - M Sport Saloon

- Heated seats / 19" Wheels / Sports Auto Transmission

The deal is £4k deposit, 36 months at £275 per month incl gap insurance. Annual mileage would be 8,000.

Now I am very new to this but I am not sure on whether PCP is the right option or whether I should just buy an older 3 series but used. My plan is to put the £275 x 36 months aside (well not all of it but at least 2 years worth) to fund payments. The alternative is to use that money now along with the £4k deposit (part ex value of my current car) to purchase say a 2010 BMW 3 series instead. Also is the deal they have offered a good deal, given what is available on the market currently?

Thank you all for your help

Omar

BMW 3 Series - BMW 3 Series - Is this a good deal? - Avant

It could be a good deal - but presumably this is on the pre-facelift model, which they will be trying to get rid of quickly.

Only you know what you can afford. A lot of people on here wil tell you that financially brand-new cars don't make sense, I would say that cars like BMWs which hold their vaue comparatively well can be worth buying new, together wth the peace of mind that a 3-year manufacturer's warranty brings you. A 5-year old BMW will be expensive to repair of it goes wrong.

Do you do enough miles a year to make a diesel worth while? If not, you might get an even better deal on a petrol.

If you decide to go for the new one, see what deals are avaiable on brokers' sites such as Drivethedeal, Carfile and Carwow.

I do probably 10k miles a year at most. I went for the auto diesel as I thought it was the most econmoical and best engine. Good point re the new facelift. Didn't think of that. Might be able to do a better deal with that info!