Volvo V70 1999 - New Car - Any advice welcome - damion

I have just purchased a 1999 V70 with 144,000 on the clock for £880 any good advice or tips would be much appreciated. It will primarily be a dog transport car so not to worried about the interior and have been warned about keeping it serviced and oiled, seems to be in good order apart from grinding noise going into third gear. All the best, Damion.

Volvo V70 1999 - New Car - Any advice welcome - tony g
Hi Damion ,
Sounds like a worn synchro, could be very expensive to fix ,but I'm no mechanic .
If you're just using it as a runabout ,whenever possible avoid using third gear .Change from 2 to 4 ,I'm not sure whether it will extend the gearboxes life but at least you will be spared the grinding noise .

If you have to use third ,double de clutch, as my dad use to say .especially when changing down to third .Method below ,anybody else remember double de clutch ?

Push down on the clutch ,move the car from 4 into neutral ,let the clutch up .put the clutch in again ,put the car into third ,let the clutch up .its a slow technique from many years ago and too slow for modern driving conditions ,but it could prolong the life of the gearbox .

Regards

Tony g
Volvo V70 1999 - New Car - Any advice welcome - Ed V

I had to sue DDC methods on many an early car, especially on the low gears. I rather enjoyed changing down as a result. Most flaccid modern vehicles wouldn't react as quickly as is needed in the pedal area though, so it's just as well we have synchromesh.

Volvo V70 1999 - New Car - Any advice welcome - galileo

Learning to drive in the 1960's,as I did, few (if any) cars had synchro on first gear - most were geared low enough that second could be used from very low speeds, but on 3-speed Fords it was almost essential to learn double declutching if you were balked on a hill and wanted to keep moving smoothly.