53 Plate Honda Civic 1.7 cdti (manual) - Honda Civic Woe's; Starting & How to tow ? - Bigdaveg

Well here's a first; asking for advice on my wife's Honda Civic, in 3 years of reliable carefree motoringit don't wanna start :-(

Yesterday she said that she could hear a noise (from under the bonnet), when she started it, it started and ran fine for the rest of the day, with no repeat of the noise.

Today I went out to "listen" as she started the car, andfor the first time I can ever re-call the car did not start and still refuses to start; upon turning the key there is a very feint hearted attempt at a click, I have checked fuses, the battery seems ok as the heater, lights and wipers work ok. I'm no mechanic but given the noise she heard, the lack of a clear click and the apparent abundance of power, would I be right in thinking that it might be either the starter motor or solenoid ?.

This leads me onto my next question; my ford fusion has 2 very clear towing points, one under the rear bumper and a hidden recess in the front bumper, which is under a small removable cover. The civic has the usual rear towing eye/hoop but I cannot see any towing point at the front, does anyone know where the towing point is please ?.

I aim to tow the car 5 miles to a mechanic, have a tow rope but can't figure out how to attach it to the civic. The Manual isn't a lot of use, merely stating that it should be towed by a professional.

Any help or infor would be greatly appreciated.

53 Plate Honda Civic 1.7 cdti (manual) - Honda Civic Woe's; Starting & How to tow ? - bathtub tom

Make sure you use towing points and not lashing points. The latter are for holding down the car on ferries and suchlike.

Have you tried bump-starting it, or using jump leads? Both are far better options than a tow.

53 Plate Honda Civic 1.7 cdti (manual) - Honda Civic Woe's; Starting & How to tow ? - Chris M