Vauxhall Astra I - Is the 1.7 cdti engine an "old" design? - RicardoB

Just wondering whether the 1.7 diesel version of the new/current Astra is basically an "old" engine? I.e. been around for a few years in different guises, tweaks etc.

Something in the back of my mind says that a previous generation 1.7 was not the bees knees, so to speak.

That all said, now I do a lower mileage, the 1.4 turbo petrol reads well.

Thanks.

Vauxhall Astra I - Is the 1.7 cdti engine an "old" design? - danidge
Nobody has replied- I was waiting for the experts to comment.

I am not a diesel expert , but my instincts are:

Vauxhall introduced a diesel in the Cavalier then Astra in 1992. This was an Isuzu made engine with turbo and received good reviews in Autocar magazine. There was also a GM diesel at this time which was deemed poor.

I believe it is the Isuzu engine which has been updated over the years going common rail in 2003. Check it out.....in 1992 it had 1686cc, 79 bore and 86 stroke- do not know what current one is.

If the above is correct then you might deem this an old engine. Does this matter? The older the better as far as I am concerned. Let somebody else find out the teething troubles.

Vauxhall Astra I - Is the 1.7 cdti engine an "old" design? - RicardoB

Thanks. Yes, I was rather stunned by the silence!

I also had the same thoughts re Isuzu from years ago. And also agree re "old and tried has more going for it"!

Anyway, it's Euro V (or whatever the latest thing is).

Must way I'm tempted.

Vauxhall Astra I - Is the 1.7 cdti engine an "old" design? - iFocus

Hi,

The 1.7 CDTi is a new GM design and has nothing to do with the old Isuzu units. Although the Isuzu unit is far from bad, I infact have one in an Astra G and it has over 140k on it.

Cheers

Craig

Vauxhall Astra I - Is the 1.7 cdti engine an "old" design? - Victorbox