PCN Notice - Pica

A friend has just received a PCN notice after parking for 3 hours in a M4 motorway services whilst taking a rest and eating a meal inside the said services. She did not notice any signs but when I visited the services there are signs all over the place stating that you can only stay there for a maximum of 2 hours.

Does she have to pay this fine or will it go away if she ignores all the demands? It does seem a bit unfair when she was actually spending time and money in the services.

Thanks

PCN Notice - mike123mike

all motorway services charge after 2 hours. most use cameras and records your reg number when you drive in and then clocks you out when you pass thru the camera on your way out.

its std practise to fine your friend as thats their rules and regs. i am a hgv driver and have been for over 10 yrs and its always been the same. normally there is a guy walking around but now as technology advances forward the cameras have come in to replace the security guy.

they have all the photographic evidence they need to prove your friend was there for that time of stay

i`d pay it and let it be a lesson learned. most of these services car parking schemes are run by private companies and not the actual services themselves so approaching the services would not help. its the same as over staying your paying space in a car parking bay in town or anywhere that has a limit.

cut your losses and learn for next time.

as to ignoring the demands etc and hoping they will go ,wont happen.

to what a small fine now is better than a large fine later with bayliff charges on etc etc.

PCN Notice - Pica

Mmmm, thank you very much for your input. I have just watched a internet clip from the BBC Watchdog piece on PPCs and their advice is to take the PCN make a paper aeroplane and see how far you can fly it.