Ford Fiesta - advice PLEASE!!! -timing belt/water pump problem - sh4untheshanks

Hello

I'm looking for some advice, ahead of speaking to a garage that is having my girlfriends car in again tomorrow....i'll start at the beginning!...sorry if i ramble

She bought a 2002 fiesta zetec in October last year, the car was fine but last service didn't report a new timing belt so she booked it in to a local garage to get that work done 'to be on the safe side' of potentially an expensive repair if it failed. The work was done in January and the car had not experienced any problems leading up to this time.

The garage carried the work out replacing the timing belt and also the water pump approx £250 cost

Ever since she had the car back and seemed to be a 'tapping' / 'clicking' sound when she first started the engine, it seemed to be coming from the left hand side of the engine - sorry im no mechanic as u can tell!!...the problem was intermittent - she called the garage who told her it may just be the fan belt noise but not to worry too much.

The problem got worse two days ago - the noise came, got a bit louder after driving 3 miles, she heared a 'bang' , pulled over and could not start the car again - it would turn over but not fire. Recovery called and they said that the timing belt seemed in tact but the fan belt had snapped...he also noted that the water pump seemed 'out of position' and probably led to the fan belt snap but that she would have to have the timing checked again

She has had it taken back to the garage and he is looking at it tommorow but said - 'it doesnt look good' and that 'I told you about that fanbelt love - it's probably knocked the water pump off'

right ramble over - questions i have are....

1. would a fanbelt likely be able to dislodge a water pump?

2. Could it be that the water pump was not fitted correctly leading to the noise and fan belt prob?