Mileage advice required - Daley
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here so go easy!

I am a self-employed accident investigator and as such travel approx 40k miles p.a. in the course of my work. I am looking to buy a new car and obviously a need one that provides decent economy. However, as I also spend a lot of time in my car it needs to be fairly roomy/comfortable etc.

I have looked at a BMW 3 Series (poss the 1.8 diesel ES) which seem to have good mpg figures and also tick all the comfort boxes. Other possibilities are the new Passat or maybe a new Insignia (which doesn't have as good mpg).

Another consideration could be getting a lpg car (or getting a new 1 converted). What are peoples thoughts on this? Would it be possible to get a new Insignia for example, then fit it with a lpg conversion?

Rough figures are approx 50 mpg for the insignia but with lpg at almost half the price of diesel, would that mean I could effectively get 100mpg - or does it not work like that?!

As you can probs tell, I do not know much about cars!

Thanks for reading.
Mileage advice required - Manatee
I dare say you could get an LPG conversion done on a petrol Insignia, but the mpg will be worse than than on petrol which will reduce the saving. LPG conversions are not always successful either, depending who does them. You'll also be a hostage to fortune - it's only cheaper at the moment because there's less tax on it.

The BMW sounds a good prospect if you like them. The VAG PD engines have a reputation for outstanding economy, and are still available in some models - e.g. the Skoda Octavia.
Mileage advice required - tyro
Regarding LPG conversions, I suggest that you do a "Forum Search":

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/search.htm

Read threads like this one:

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=65354

As far as comfort - the only way to find out what is comfortable for you is to try out a few cars - it's very much a matter of individual taste and build.
Mileage advice required - rtj70