96 1.8 ignition switch? - boxxy
Hi I am new to this I have a probelm with the ignition, the key turns fine either on or off but it does not turn the starter motor. There is no spring back from the switch when you turn the key to start it, it feels as though the ignition swicth is seized or faulty. When I turn it off and remove the key the ignition lights are still on, cannot get access to the starter motor terminals to short them out to see if the car will start. I have disconnected the battery so not to flatten the battery. I think I may need a new ignition swicth if so how do I change it. Many thanks Boxxy
96 1.8 ignition switch? - topbloke
i expect that you will find that the end of the barrel has snapped off, remove the steering cowl put the key into the barrel turn to the second position and then you will need to look carefully at the outer casing for a small hole push a small pin or a allenkey into the hole and the barrel should pull out, this is where you need to know how a new one should look like, if you have a look around the vauxhall forums you may find a how to with some pic's,Regards TB
96 1.8 ignition switch? - Dynamic Dave
if you have a look around the vauxhall forums you may find a how to with some pic's Regards TB

Will this do:-

www.omegaowners.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1225657771

Different car, but basically the same principle.
96 1.8 ignition switch? - Victorbox
If it's not springing back it could be the switch at end of lock barrel tinyurl.com/y98zoow
on the omega set of pic's, bottom picture look at the spring on the left between the end of the spring and the end of the barrel looking left thats the bit that breaks not allowing you to turn ing on or of , for the price of a switch i would change it anyway if indeed its the barrel thats broken,Regards TB