Will deflated tyres alter the speedo reading? - mr thicky
a friend of mine says that deflated tyres on the driving wheels alters the speedo readings,he thinks it makes the wheel smaller therefore lowering the gearing. he's an engineer and can prove it (his words).I totally disagree telling him that it does not alter the circumference of the tyre. I'm only a plumber who's right?

{Changed the header as the other one was annoying me, which incidentally I changed in the first place!}

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 14/10/2009 at 19:54

05 2000 general question - TurboD
That would depend on what the setting of the speedo was right in the first place?. Was it at a predetermined tyre inflation?, also what about those that stick 17" wheels on, do they recalibrate speedos?, I would not think so.
Most speedos show over the actual speed anyway, so they is a good bit of slack in the system., teh teh type was on teh rims it would be smaller, but you couldn't drive.
I reckon the difference is so small it is not recognised by the speedo, for driving purposes.
Does deflated tyres alter the speedo reading? - Dynamic Dave
I've changed the tyres on my Vectra-C from 215/50/17 to 225/45/17 (main reason being the 225/45/17 is a more common size and thus cheaper to buy. This is also the alternate size recommended in the handbook, so no need to inform my insurance company of the change)

The speedo reads approx 3 mph more than it previously did. Also when I had the 215/50/17 tyres on, comparing the mileage doing the same journey in my Vectra-C and my dad's Astra-G, the odometer trip readings were pretty much the same for a 73 mile drive. The same journey with the 225/45/17 tyres adds approx 1½ to 2 miles onto the same journey.

In short, fitting a smaller radius tyre alters the speedo readings. So therefore deflated tyres will also alter the readings.

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 08/10/2009 at 02:05

Does deflated tyres alter the speedo reading? - Peter D