idiots towing trailers - alfatrike
as a professional coach driver i am frustrated by countless idiots towing at illegal and dangerous speeds. my coach is limited to 62mph by law and i am forever being over AND UNDERTAKEN by eejets towing. the law changed in 1997 to give newly qualified drivers a total trailer limit of 750 Kgs. how many people who passed their test in '97 at the age of 18 are now 30 with a wife and a couple of kids and a caravan. i don't know of many caravans that way less than 750 Kgs.

sorry i started to rant. what can i do? i can't ram them off the road as they are gone past to fast and if i phone the police they aren't bothered.

idiots towing trailers - Manatee
I don't doubt you've seen a lot of idiots towing, but you're wrong about the licence changes.

In short, those who passed their tests on or after 1 January 1997, but haven't passed an additional trailer test, can tow a trailer provided that -

- the combined MAM (maximum authorised mass) of the towing vehicle and trailer does not exceed 3500Kg; and

- the MAM of the trailer doesn't exceed the unladen weight of the towing vehicle.

That gives quite a bit of scope, and would for example allow such a driver to tow my 1200Kg MAM trailer with my CRV (MAM 2140Kg, unladen weight/kerbweight about 1600Kg).

Edited by Manatee on 10/08/2009 at 22:11

idiots towing trailers - Sofa Spud
The worst offenders for speeding with trailers are people using them in the course of work, usually attached to vans, double-cab pick-ups or high-powred 4x4s. Typically a Range Rover towing a car transporter trailer carrying a classic sports car doing 80 mph sort of thing.

Edited by Sofa Spud on 10/08/2009 at 22:22