Driving with no road tax - meltonlad
im picking up a new car on thursday (second hand) can i drive it back to mine with no tax ? it will be insured and with mot. i dont want to tax it till i have sold my other car.

Edited by Pugugly on 24/03/2009 at 23:01

driving with no road tax - Mick Snutz
I'm no expert but I would have to say no you can't drive legally.
No Tax and failure to display a valid VED are offences. surely?

For the sake of waiting a few days to buy it on-line it could save a large fine.

Also not sure if your insurance would be invalid if you had a crash en-route home.
Insurance co's will do anything to wriggle out of a claim.

driving with no road tax - Chris White
When I was picking up my new second hand car last year it was on a Saturday afternoon so Post Office closed.

The dealer I was buying it from was of the opinion that I had the receipt for the car purchased that afternoon so shouldn't be a problem if you were stopped by the police.

I drove home and just parked it up over the weekend and purchased new road tax Monday. Road tax back dated to the beginning of that month.

Car was insured and MoTed so I didn't see a problem.
driving with no road tax - andyp
If you are buying it from a dealers, ask them if they would deliver it to you on their trade plates, but you would have to keep it off the road & SORN it if you are not going to tax it straight away.
driving with no road tax - bathtub tom
It's quite legal to drive to and from an MOT without tax (as long as it doesn't fail on something drastic). So it's not unknown to book an MOT at say somewhere near where you live, drive the car home and then 'phone and cancel the MOT appointment due to unforeseen circumstances.

Not that I'm suggesting you do such, of course.
driving with no road tax - jbif
driving with no road tax >>

meltonlad: Don't believe anything you read here unless it links to a Government [".gov.uk"] web site.