Rust on 9 week old car - Kenny.s
Hi,

I bought a Golf GTi brand new from my local VW main dealer, had 6 miles when i collected it. I had a good look over the car before accepting it, looked for dings, scratches etc both inside the workshop and outside in the daylight and never noticed anything untoward. I am very pernickety about my cars and therfore take very good care of them.
The car is now 9 weeks old and has done 3500 miles. While washing it today i noticed rust starting to break through on the tailgate, just under the rear window.
I've not spoken to the dealer yet as they were closed by the time i discovered it.
To say that i'm unhappy is an understatement. Am i within my rights to ask them to take the car back? or are they entitled to try and fix it?

Cheers

Kenny
Rust on 9 week old car - Halmer
Hi Ken

By 'fix it' the least that you should look for is a new tailgate. I'm not a lawyer but would have thought that your grounds for rejecting the car completely are unfounded. I'm sure that someone with more knowledge of this will post soon.
Rust on 9 week old car - nick
Aren't VW's galvanised? Presumably not!
I'm not sure i follow, if the "least" i should look for is a new tailgate this implies i should be looking for more ie ask for a new car, yet they way i read it you feel i have insuficient grounds to do this?

VW are supposed to be galvanised yes, all the more reason to question whats going on with this. How do i know that this is the only bit on the car thats defective?
If they are galvanised it's possible the tailgate was damaged before delivery and has been repaired and resprayed. Any signs of this?
Rust on 9 week old car - Bill Payer
Reject it - it's not of merchantable quality.
Rust on 9 week old car - bintang
Reject it - it's not of merchantable quality.

I believe the correct legal term is now "saleable" quality.
Rust on 9 week old car - craig-pd130