Diesel - is the honeymoon over? - perleman
Is the honeymoon over for diesel? Here are my thoughts:

* Concern over reliability of CR engines (misfueling etc)
* Petrol engines becoming more & more efficient
* More electric / hybrid cars on the market now
* Diesel prices going up recently (accepted this has happened to normal petrol too though, I paid £1.13 per litre last week)

One thing that makes me doubt that diesel has had it's day is that the price of 2nd hand diesels remains high despite concerns (on this board for example) about reliability. Usually, cars known for unreliability & high running costs don't hold their values as well i.e. Saabs, Masseratis.

Edited by perleman on 31/12/2007 at 16:05

Diesel - is the honeymoon over? - Screwloose

For private owners, I've been saying it's over for quite a few years. [Nobody listened...]

Fleets see it differently, mainly due to the huge discounts that they can get from people like Citroen; but the auction prices in the SE now are getting so bad that many of them ship their cars to places like Cardiff where the locals still fight over 'em.
Diesel - is the honeymoon over? - Kuang
It'll be interesting to see how well the Diesotto lump from Mercedes Benz goes down - if their economy claims are true then it'll call into question the traditional benefits of diesel engines.
Diesel - is the honeymoon over? - Ruperts Trooper
Seperate the market into it's two sectors.

Fleet buyers want, and get, lowest cost per mile over the first three years of a vehicles life - diesel is king.

Private buyers want, but don't get, lowest cost over whole life - petrol isn't king but still predominant.
Diesel - is the honeymoon over? - Pendlebury
I think it is over and the chief of engines for Fiat also says the same.