1991 Fiesta 1.0 - Bangernomics sense? - SjB {P}
I promise this is not laziness, but I'd like to act quicker than waiting until I have time to browse the web properly, or waiting until I can buy a secondhand car guide.

A colleague is selling a J reg (1991) white (needs a good t-cut by the looks of it) 1.0 base model Fiesta three door. 80k miles. standard stereo, 12 months MOT. She recons VGC, as a seller always does, but I honestly think "Yeah. Okay. Average."

Ideal first car for my newly qualified driver of a wife, in which case what guide price, or likely bag of nails?

I had intended to buy her something more recent, but this opportunity cropped up unexpectedly today.

Of course I will inspect more thoroughly before proceeding, but guideline advice would be appreciated, as I have plenty of knowledge on some cars, but none of it on early 90's Fiestas.

Many thanks,
Steve

1991 Fiesta 1.0 - Bangernomics sense? - M.M
Steve,

In no particular order.....Fiestas are still in demand as a basic car. They are often short run/minimum servicing vehicles and their engines can in terrible condition. They rust more that some other makes so even if it looks tidy on top a good prod round underneath is needed. Most places understand them for inexpensive repairs.

Don't pay too much and look at the car-by car breakdown here.

David W
1991 Fiesta 1.0 - Bangernomics sense? - dave18
Mum had one; gave a headache above 60mph. Stepmum had one and was told the engine was on its way out at 72k. Not one out of the 5 in college is quiet.
1991 Fiesta 1.0 - Bangernomics sense? - Miller
I think the car would be worth no more than £300, no matter how good its condition, if it had no MOT it would be almost worthless.
1991 Fiesta 1.0 - Bangernomics sense? - Rob E
Although some of the comments posted have been rather negative, do bear in mind the following:

Parts for the Fiesta are plentiful and very cheap, and there's an excellent supply of scrap parts, too.