BMW 5 Series iDrive. - cattleman6
Please could someone let me know if the iDive system is as bad as is painted.
This morning a beautiful black 5 series BMW past me and I thought what a lovely looking car it is with very good people carrying ability etc and with reasonable economy for a car of it's class. I have heard so many negative comments shouted about the awkward iDrive. I am not good with computers unfortunately.
Also I wonder what engine one should buy for economy with both plenty of long distance and daily city driving. I see the 520D is good; but one report said it was a bit under engined. I'm not interested in enormous performance, mainly sensible reasonably legal driving. They also recommended an auto gearbox rather than the manual one.
I will be extremely grateful for any information anybody can tell me on the subject.

BMW 5 Series iDrive. - Pugugly {P}
(I've deleted the double posting (in mod mode) )

No it isn't. People don't get it and possibly because on UK cars the vast majority of buyers are using it with the incorrect hand (left) if you're left handed (like me) I think you'll find intuitive enough. On the other hand (!) it isn't something that dominates the driving experience, once everything is set up to your liking you forget it. Pop along to your dealer and there is usually a demo system set up. Get a test drive and buy one.
I am very grateful for what you have said " Pugugly".
BMW 5 Series iDrive. - colinh
A lot of this I-drive "anti" comes from road testers (present company excepted) who think it would say something about their manhood if they read the manual.

However, the latest version in the X5 has 8 shortcut favourites buttons - presumably they will find their way into other models at upgrade time.
Thanks for replying and taking the trouble. I am relieved at what you say about the I-drive. Some of the road testers in their glossy magazines don't have enough time to properly get to know the cars.