Mazda MX3 - Engine Flush or No? - Pheonix
Hi All,

Just bought an MX3 (1.8i V6 version, 1996 at 77k). It needs a service soon, so I'm gonna start with the oil and work my way along.

Now I know about the HLAs, and how they can get clogged up. I've also heard some people recommend doing an Engine Flush during the oil change to clear them of any debris etc. I've also found sites with things like Wynns Engine Flush. Now although this seems like a good idea, I'm aware that there are potential problems.

A) You could free up crap which then doesn't clear and ends up in the HLAs, just making things worse.

B) Engine Flush is presumably full of Detergents or some sort. Surely if I stick this stuff in, it's still gonna be in the engine even after I've drained the oil and replaced it. Is this gonna cause a problem with breaking down the new engine oil and not providing sufficient protection.

Comments?
Mazda MX3 - Engine Flush or No? - Roger Jones
I'm no technical expert, but I'd give it fresh oil, drive it on the hard side for a thousand miles, then replace the oil, and stick to a tight oil-change interval thenceforth.
Mazda MX3 - Engine Flush or No? - L'escargot
What does the owner's manual or service schedule say? When my car reaches that mileage it won't get an engine flush ~ it'll get a service as per the service schedule just as it does at any other mileage.
--
L\'escargot.
Mazda MX3 - Engine Flush or No? - dxp55
When I got my first 626 - V6 2.5 the HLA's were rattling on start up so I changed the oil every 1k miles for first 3k (medium priced oil) then every 3k after that (American Mazda site recommends every 3k) - worked wonders and engine became quiet - got job down to 20 min - a large cat litter tray is handy for sump and small one for oil filter which fortunately was on front of engine - buy a sump washer every time and my filters were same as Ford Probe V6. - I have just change oil on my Xedos which I also do at 3k intervals.
This might help:

tinyurl.com/2o23sy