Mazda 323 Diesel - LinuxGeek
As you probably can take it from my username, I'm a big fan of Mazda cars. Now I'm planning to buy a diesel one which I've never done before (not Mazda or Japanese diesel). I don't know much about their diesels but I've read reviews on parkers but it doesn't tell a lot about diesels either. So I would like to know how do you rate Mazda's diesel cars? I've checked on autotrader and I can pick up a 323 TD on T/V plate for around £2k with just over 100k miles on it. All your comments and suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks
Mazda 323 Diesel - Jonathan {p}
Hi

We've got one of these.

I bought it at auction a couple of years ago. 100k on the clock, W(2000) for £2500.

Great car, interior isn't the nicest but its spacious enough and looks ok, diesel is a bt unrefined and noisy, but economical. My wife likes it.

Get the cambelt changed if required, otherwise no problems to report.
Thanks Jonathan. I've had a V plate 1.5 petrol 323 before. An idiot hit it hard on the motorway from the back so it was a right off. I really liked it and so did my wife so we're looking at another one with a budget of £2k. I need a diesel as I'll be doing 80 miles round trip on motorway for work. What sorts of MPG are you getting from it? I guess it'll be almost impossible to find parts for it except Mazda dealers? What in particular I would look for when I go to view the ones I like?
I'd check the basics, like do the electrics work, mirrors, windows central locking, aircon etc.
What is the service history like.
mechanically these seem solid cars and as long as they are serviced fairly regularly certainly we haven't had any problems with it.
Get a tame mechanic to come with you to check it out.

we're getting around 50mpg on mixed runs, so a tank goes about 500 miles