Do diesel cars cause cancer? - moonshine
This has been on my mind since hearing a comment mayor Ken made on the radio. It was part of a conversation with a black cab driver and Ken mentioned something along the lines (this quote may not be accurate) "diesel particulates that cause cancer". I remember reading an article a few years back about the PM10 particles and a link to cancer. Anyway, my question is - does anyone know of any web reliable websites/research from a reptuable source related to this subject?

This is subject that I have a personal interest in as may years ago (15 to be exact) I worked as a motorcycle dispatch rider in London. When I would get home from work my face would be blackened from what I assumed to be soot from the buses and black cabs. I always wondered that if my face was getting that dirty what must the inside of my lungs be like? If there is a proven link between particulates and cancer then surely all diesels should have particle filters as a legal requirement?

I'm looking for information based on research and real science so please don't post about any links to sites with pseudo science sites or opinions - I'm after the facts!

One other thing - this isn't an anti diesel thread :)
Do diesel cars cause cancer? - GregSwain
The Euro IV emissions standards are a lot tighter than previous requirements, and as a result nearly all new diesel cars have particle filters - PSA has a different system apparently, which I know very little about. There's some info at en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diesel_particulate_matter

Thanks for the link - it gave an interesting overview, although being a wikipedia and therefore not 100% reliable it does appear to be based on facts.

I guess the next question is, how many cars on the road today have these filters? How efficient are they? Are they reliable? Are they a service item?
Do diesel cars cause cancer? - Altea Ego
Do diesel cars cause cancer?

Yes but only to the guy following behind me so its no problem.