Roof Boxes - type's'
Just come back from a fantastic weeks holiday in Dorset. My first visit and I can recommend it.
This country has some fantatsic coast line and beaches (Studland Bay in particular)
Problem was all the stuff I rammed into the Accord (I knew I should have had the estate).
I am considering a roof box and will probably buy a Kamei box with Altea bars.

The question is do roof boxes effect stability of the car at motorway speeds ?
Can anyone that uses them please let me know.
Roof Boxes - the_bandit
I use a Thule X1 on my Galaxy.

From my experience, I don't even notice it's on whether driving around town or pushing 70mph on the motorway.

Roof Boxes - Morgie
Just come back from a fantastic weeks holiday in Dorset.

As a Dorset resident I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to my part of the world.
My wife and I holidayed in the Lake District for a week back in June using a roof box on my Rover 45 turbo diesel. It did nearly 1000 miles and still got 45 -50 mpg. Didn't notice any affect on the motorway travelling at the speed limit. I even left in on all week whilst up there, too much of a fag to take it off. Have a look on E-bay for them; I got my Karrite for £40 from a chap in just down the road from me in Poole.
Roof Boxes - Chips with everything
The only effect I've noticed is during a cross wind, best to keep the weight as low as possible - ie. out of the roofbox.

Other than that, a loss of 2-3 mpg from our vectra 2.2 estate.

HTH.
Roof Boxes - gsb
Clearly some are more aerodynamic than others. I have a fairly long/wide ski box which is not very high but can hold an amazing amount together with ski equipment. If you use soft bags you can fill all the space. I would not be surprised if most people wish they had bought a larger box than they did. ( As long as future storage is not a problem ). Also think of the total height on car if you are ever likely to encounter any height restrictions in your travels.