urgent advice needed - gingerwinger
a mate of mine had her car in a garage for some warrenty work and the garage gave her a loan car but cus she was under 25 there insurance didn't cover her so they said she had to use her own insurance to cover the car. she rang the insurance company and told them it was a loan car and they only covered her on tpft and the garage were aware of this. bad news is that she drove into the back of a car. the garage recovered the car and now are not letting her have her car back till she pays 1000 notes to cover the damage on the loan car. can the garage keep her car ??? she said she will pay for the damage but not in one big lump but over a few months. could she class it as theft of her car ???
urgent advice needed - Adam {P}
I have no experience of this and would strongly advise you not to listen to me but think of it from the garage's point of view. She's damaged one of their cars and there's no guarantee they're going to get paid to fix it. It doesn't sound that surprising to me but that doesn't mean they're allowed to do it.

Someone who knows a great deal more about it than me will no doubt be along soon. Good luck to your friend.
urgent advice needed - madf
I suspect the garage will argue the repair cost included a loan car. As she was aware of the risks of the insurance cover, she cannot plead ignorance of the potential risk.

So by refusing to pay for the repairs to the garage's car, she is effectively refusing to pay part of her bill for repair of her car.

Imo the garage has every right to demand payment in full before she gets her car back. if she wants extended payments, she should borrow the money from a source of finance (a bank). If garages lent all their customers money to pay their repairs, they would go bust in a week.

But that is my opinion only..
madf