focus estate problems any advice please - rob baker
with my new second hand focus i have a few problems can anyone please offer advice on the following:

1 creaking rear offside door. when you close the door it makes terrrible creaking noise. oil? or structural?
2 air con smells of chemicals - is this dangerous? how can i get rid of
3 rear hatch doesnt open fully - gas lift problem? or just oiling bits?
4 front driver electric window opens all the way despite very short press on the control. passenger side only opens all way if hold swithc down momentarily
5 rear hatch makes terrible slam noise when closing - does lock need adjusting or are they all like this?
6 as i have just bought from dealer should i ask him to sort out the above free of charge? even so would still like to know solutions to above problems.
many thanks
Re: focus estate problems any advice please - Andy P
I've limited experience of the Focus, but some of the problems sound familiar:

1. Sound like the contraption which holds the door open needs greasing. It's the curved metal piece that runs from the pillar to the door above the bottom hinge.
2. Try running the air-con with the temperature on hot for ten minutes or so. It may be mildew or similar in the vents. If so, do this on a regular basis.
3. Most probably the gas struts.
4. Most driver's windows operate on a 'one touch'. One touch sends the window all the way down, one touch sends it all the way back up again. You should be able to stop it by pressing the switch again.
5. Pass
6. There's no harm in asking.

Andy
Re: focus estate problems any advice please - KB